MUM’S GOT BALLS! Meat balls, that is…

20131022-012620.jpg

Apparently it’s “Cloudy With A (very good) Chance of Meatballs” around here. So many blogs and FB posts lately seem to be filled with all things balls! And why not? Mothers aren’t fools. We know that pretty much anything round and squishy is going to get eaten by fussy pants children. And just as we hide all sorts of nutritious goodies in bliss balls, the same goes for our meatballs. Squishy meat is perfect for holding onto little slivers of vegetables!
J4 is great with veggies but Little R2 can be tricky at times so these little ‘grab ’em by the balls’ are a perfect lunch or dinner option.
I make a big batch and use half for dinner then half the following day for lunch.
This worked out perfectly a couple of days ago as we had guests for lunch, an old friend with her delightful 1 year old who is at the “far too busy exploring my world on two feet to sit and eat mum” stage. I knew my balls would be just the tasty treat to hold her interest!
And I was right! She sat at the kids’ table with my boys and had a wonderful time exploring a bowl of colourful shapes, textures and tastes.

20131022-002414.jpg

Funnily enough, I was never really close to this old friend years ago as I knew her mainly through another friend, so catching up was actually like making a new friend from an old friend! It was really lovely. You know, say what you will about the perils of social media but it has certainly brought me closer to quite a few wonderful people who may not otherwise be in my life.

Anyway, lets talk balls…

20131022-000403.jpg

GRAB ‘EM BY THE BALLS

1kg minced grass fed beef ( 2lbs ground beef)

1 carrot, grated

1 zucchini, grated

1/2 red onion finely diced

1 egg

1/2 tsp dried Italian herbs

A good crack of sea salt and black pepper

1 tablespoon good quality BBQ or Tomato sauce. (Here in Australia I use the MACRO organic brand bbq sauce from Woolworths which has only real ingredients and no artificial colours, flavours or preservatives.)

20131022-004305.jpg

HERE’S HOW

Note: If your food processor is not broken like mine, you can do everything in there.

Makes approximately 60 meatballs

* Preheat oven to 200dc (390df) and line a baking tray with parchment paper.

* Using a clean tea towel, squeeze any excess water out of the grated carrot and zucchini.

* Thoroughly combine all other ingredients before adding the meat.

* Add the meat and mix thoroughly with a wooden spoon or your clean hands.

* Roll into bite sized balls and arrange half of them on the baking tray.

* Bake for 30 minutes

* Store remaining balls on a covered plate or large container in the fridge or freezer.

20131022-004919.jpg

For dinner, my family and I ate the meatballs on a gently steamed cabbage leaf topped with pumpkin and sweet potato mash with grated cheese, drizzled with olive oil and cracked sea salt and pepper. You could always roll them up in the cabbage leaf like a meatball wrap but my kids eat with their eyes and want to know everything that is on offer!

20131022-005337.jpg

For lunch, I served them with a simple salad. The key, I find, in getting kids to eat salad is that “you gotta keep ’em separated…” (Who sang that 90’s song again? Offspring?) I didn’t dress the salad but rather left lemon and olive oil available for us adults. Some people think by smothering salad in rich, sugary dressings kids will be more inclined to eat it but I find the opposite. Keep it simple, let them taste the food. If it’s smothered in dressing how do they even know whether or not they like cucumber? If it looks attractive and cheerful on the plate you might be surprised at what they’ll try. And of course lead by example. Let them see you enjoying it with lots of oohing and ahhing, delighting over the crispness and the crunch. Platters are always a great idea too as kids like to share food. More specifically, mum’s food!

20131022-010737.jpg

These meatballs are so versatile and budget friendly. We’ve also had them for dinner threaded onto skewers with assorted vegetables, brushed with olive oil and oven baked or grilled on the BBQ. (The ones pictured were without the grated veggies as I knew I’d be loading the skewers with plenty of them!)

20131022-164350.jpg

And why not finish things off with some more round squishy things?
Blueberries, sultanas, strawberries and really healthy chocolate crackles for dessert!
Yeah, I know strawberries aren’t round…

20131022-011020.jpg

Enjoy 🙂

Come and checkout my Facebook page.

9 thoughts on “MUM’S GOT BALLS! Meat balls, that is…

  1. Awesome Ren! You are keepin’ it real and inspiring me to keep trying new ways of introducing new foods to EJ. Although she is a pretty bloody good eater. No idea where she gets that from :-))

      • Thanks Teresa 🙂 I whole heartedly agree about the garlic but my littlest one is not a great fan unfortunately. While I bet the milk and cheese would be delicious, I can’t eat too much dairy as it drives my sinus’ crazy. Thanks so much for your comments though 🙂

  2. Meatballs, brilliant! Haven’t tried them for ages. Will pop them on this week’s menu. Beautiful photos of all that lovely food.. reminds me of when my oldest was a toddler – he only ate food served separately like that. Would eat all of a salad, but only if it was divided into separate piles of its components. Would eat meatballs with tomato sauce and cheese, but only if they were all in separate compartments of his toddler plate. We joked that he was clearly training for eating in the army..

  3. Pingback: Honey Mustard Sausages with Roasted Vegetable Salad | renlikesred

  4. Yep, great ideas. I really need to get on and try some meatballs again soon. I’ve also done lamb meatballs with a small cube of fetta (perhaps not for the kids, depending on their tastes?) in the centre. And I’m like you with salads most of the time, we call it make your own salad salad, so you just pick the bits you like and as much as you like with or without dressing. Having said that salad is one thing I never have trouble getting my kids to eat (except the lettuce, they don’t always eat that bit). My mum bought home made sausage rolls one day for lunch to have with a salad and asked Miss Four what she’d like on her plate, “just salad thanks Nan” was her reply. She grabs a tomato (big or cherry) or a carrot or capsicum out of the fridge for a snack.

Leave a Reply

