Happy little accidents… Chocolate fudge ice cream

With a house full of guests expected for the weekend, I filled my trusty food processor with cups and spoonfuls of dates, nuts and cacao, ready to whizz into one of my favourite delicious treats from Whole food Simply: Raw Chocolate Fudge
So of course, at that very inconvenient moment, the blade refused to spin and after four years of faithful service, my food processor decided to call it quits.
Now I could have thrown a tantrum of sorts and dumped it all in the bin, but I thought, oh well my blender is pretty powerful, I’ll give it a go.
Without success. It’s good, but its no thermomix.
So I added some liquid, which helped a little, so then I added more liquid which made it creamy and well, frankly, delicious!
A bit rich for a smoothie I poured it into a Pyrex container lined with baking paper and put it hopefully in the freezer. The result… Indulgence at is finest!

20131016-150819.jpg

CHOCOLATE FUDGE ICE-CREAM

2 cups medjool dates, chopped and pits removed

2 cups macadamia nuts

2 tablespoons cacao

1 cup and 1 tablespoon of coconut cream (I used a 270 ml AYAM can)

1 cup almond milk

Here’s How

Place all ingredients in a blender or food processor and combine until silky smooth.
Pour into a lined pyrex dish, loaf tin or freezer safe container and freeze until set for at least 2-3 hours.

* This has the perfect consistency for ice cream and my kids are absolutely mad for it.
They eat it in small cones or bowls and I’ve also used a few spoonfuls as a base for yummy smoothies.
If my food processor wasn’t broken, I’d try blending some with some frozen banana or serving in a dish with a scoop of each. Yum yum yum!

I’m sure some of the finest dishes in the history of food have come from happy accidents. Do you have any wonderfully unexpected culinary creations that you’d like to share?

Check out my Facebook page 🙂

One thought on “Happy little accidents… Chocolate fudge ice cream

  1. Looks delicious and what a happy accident. Pity about the food processor, but have you thought about taking it to get repaired. Not always worth while (though I hate throwing things out so sometimes I pay more to get something repaired than it would cost to buy a new one – a pet hate of mine), but sometimes it can be easily fixed and back in working order.

Leave a Reply

