Beautiful Bone Broth

20131005-104338.jpg

Dear lovely Vegan friends, look away now.

I’ve been making my own nourishing, flavour packed stock for about a year now and as well as being so good for us, it adds such a depth of flavour to so many meals. Well, actually, I’ve recently learned that what I’ve been making is in fact broth not stock. The difference apparently being that meat stock is the product of slow cooking pieces of meat (such as a whole chicken) in water flavoured with some veggies, herbs, salt and pepper, while bone broth is as it sounds, a flavoursome broth made from roasted bones, slow cooked in water, also flavoured by veggies, herbs, salt and pepper.
Both are delicious and full of healthful gut healing and immune boosting properties. As the meat or bones are cooked, their nutrients are slowly released into the water – vitamins (particularly the B vitamins) amino acids, nourishing fats and minerals. Meats cooked in water are a good choice for people with digestive issues as they are easier to digest than roasted, grilled etc…
This is hardly a new concept or surprising info. What’s the first thing people crave when they are sick? A comforting bowl of soup. One of the oldest, most popular home remedies for healing all ailments and ills, is a hearty chicken soup.
For more information about the healing benefits of Broth/stock I highly recommend checking out “Gut and Psychology Syndrome” (GAPS) by Dr Natasha Campbell-Mcbride.
Now, lets get down to business and make some broth!
I should add, for the record, that making broth/stock is so easy (especially if you have a slow cooker) and costs basically nothing. You’ll wonder why you ever bothered with cubes and cartons.

20131005-103543.jpg

YOU WILL NEED

* 2 carrots, halved

* an onion, quartered

* 1-2 celery sticks, halved

* any other vegetable scraps you have or those that are looking tired in your crisper.

Note: Throughout the week as I cook, I collect things like celery tops, broccoli and cauliflower stalks, kale and silver beet stalks and stems and store either in the fridge or freezer to add to the stock.

* 1 tablespoon apple cider vinegar

* 1 teaspoon good quality salt (pink Himalayan or Murray river if in Australia)

* 1 teaspoon black peppercorns

* 2-3 bay leaves

* 1 tbsp mixed dried herbs

20131005-155857.jpg

* And most importantly, BONES!

20131005-163512.jpg
It is important that your bones come from healthy free range animals – apart from the obvious ethical issues – you’re not going to get a lot of nutrition from a malnourished factory famed animal.
Until recently, most of my stock was made from chicken (bones) as it was the easiest free range animal to source locally. Drumsticks in particular are always a hit with my kids. They’re cheap, easy to cook and the meat falls easily away from the bone. When I’m making stock, I usually request that the meat is cut away from the bone rather than chewed and sucked dry! Mind you, after being re-roasted at a high temp in the oven and then slow cooked for 24 hours, I’m pretty sure that any bacteria from our eating would be well and truly killed.
Recently, good old social media put me back in touch with an old school friend who shares similar concerns and ideas around food and nutrition. She put me onto a local farm who deliver to my door, delicious bulk orders of beef and lamb from ethically farmed, grass fed animals. Check out http://www.braelandsbeef.com I also received a huge box of bones with my order for free. Some went to the dogs of friends and families, some into the freezer for a later date and some straight into the oven to roast for what would be the richest, darkest, best broth I’ve ever made!

20131005-164038.jpg

HERE’S HOW

* Roast bones (in a couple of knobs of butter, coconut oil etc…) at 200 dc (390 F) for about 30 mins or until nicely browned

* place all other ingredients in the slow cooker (crockpot)

* add your roasted bones

* fill with water, making sure all ingredients are well covered

* for chicken bones – cook for 12-24 hours
* for larger beef or lamb bones – cook for 24-72 hours.

Note: The finished broth pictured (from beef bones) was cooked for 40 hours.
You may need to top the water up once or twice during cooking.

20131005-171346.jpg

* When the broth has finished cooking, remove all ingredients from pot with a slotted spoon and discard.

* Ladle the liquid through a strainer (sieve) into a jug and pour into clean glass jars.

20131005-174318.jpg

* fill the jars leaving about an inch from the top. (This is important as the liquid may expand while freezing and if too full, cause your jar to break.)

* store in the freezer for a least 3 months but probably a lot longer. Mine is always used by then!

20131005-174811.jpg

Enjoy the goodness πŸ™‚

17 thoughts on “Beautiful Bone Broth

  1. Pingback: Green Goodness Soup | renlikesred

  2. Pingback: Keeping things simple | renlikesred

  3. Pingback: Getting the good stuff in. Ren’s top 5 tips… | renlikesred

  4. I was wondering what the difference between bone broth and stock was, thanks for the clarification. And how wonderful to have a local farm to deliver all that ethical meat. It’s always chicken and pork that I focus on when looking for free range ethical meat, lamb and beef production in Australia don’t have anywhere near the ethical concerns as the other two, but it is good to know where the meat comes from and that it was well raised and fed.

    So this broth of yours, do you use it in soups etc, or is it used differently in GAPS?

  5. I use it in everything! It’s no different to the stock I’ve been making for a while now. The thing with GAPS is that it’s a huge part of the diet. It’s recommended that you drink it (as is) with meals to aid digestion and to pretty much get as much in as possible. I’m probably not as hard core as other GAPS followers ’cause I’m still gradually adding all these elements in. I do eat soup most nights for dinner though from broth and have been enjoying a spoonful of cultured veggies with each meal. Not missing grains at all (beans and chickpeas, yes) and will happily introduce some “GAPS allowed” dairy back in eventually – particularly yoghurt but I really do think its a trigger for my sinus issues so I’ll give it time. After years of doing Weight Watchers on and off, I’m a bit like you and don’t really like the idea of strict diets and labels and limits but unlike “Paleo” which is very similar, I just really like the way GAPS focuses on healing and whole mind/body wellness rather than weightloss. For me, weightloss is a necessary benefit of going grain/dairy free but my focus is much more on overall health and wellness. The more I read, the more it just made a lot of sense to me πŸ™‚

    • It’s good to find something that actually seems to be working for you health wise isn’t it. I’ve done a bit of reading on GAPS after you’d mentioned it a couple of times. It’s not something I think I could stick to or is exactly what I need – too much fat (eg the egg yolks) is a real trigger for my digentive issues, plus I have serious weight loss issues which increases when I cut out carbs and grains. Not something I should complain about I know but there gets a point where weight loss can be as difficult as weight gain or lack of weight loss for some people. Having said that I do agree with some of it, a seriously good pro-biotic has been great for me, as well as lots of natural or greek yogurt (though this is initially cut out yes?) and switching to low gluten sour dough (which I can now make myself) has also been a good move. As for the broth, I’m completely into adding it to everything, but I’m not sure I could come at drinking it by the glass. Do you do this?
      My theory now is just to eat healthy natural foods wherever possible, make lots of it myself and make sure I have all the colours of the rainbow on my plate. Adding in more meat has been beneficial, though this is still probably a lot less than some people eat. And the transformation my breakfast to smoothies, toasted oats with yogurt and fruit or sourdough has really improved how I feel in the mornings.

      • I’ve really just settled on the idea that I just eat whole foods/real food, minimally processed. I’m not strictly GAPS or Paleo but have taken what I consider the best bits from these diets – basically just adding in lots of cultured foods, stocks and probiotics, loads of vegetables in easy to digest forms like soups, smoothies and juices. Some gluten free grains like rice and buckwheat, not regular wheat though as it really makes me feel yuk. Just started adding a bit of natural yoghurt and butter for cooking back in which seems to be fine but if I have too much dairy I get really congested. Food wise, feeling good – now I just really need to focus on moving more. Have become more and more sedentary as a mother and feeling very disconnected from my body. This weather is so uninspiring. Think it’s time to commit to a class like yoga which is not weather dependent exercise.
        Thanks for your comments, the most essential thing really it seems, is just to listen to what your body is trying to tell you – and then of course, act on it πŸ™‚

      • Yep, very sensible ideas. I’ve been doing pilates which I like because it’s a bit more of a workout than yoga but not requiring too much co-ordination like some other classes require. I’ve been thinking about trying yoga too though to help me sleep – even when the girls do sleet well I don’t, I need some techniques to help. I’d love to run again, but it’s too hard to find child-free time for that right now.

  6. Pingback: “Tum Yum Soup” – Gut Healing Chicken Soup | renlikesred

  7. Pingback: Chicken with Creamy Tomato and Herb Sauce | renlikesred

  8. Pingback: Make This, Not That… | renlikesred

  9. Pingback: Colourful Chicken Stir Fry – fast food for families | renlikesred

Leave a Reply

