Choc Coconut Bickies (cookies)

Living with three boys, aged almost 2, 4 and 33, all too often I find them sniffing around in the kitchen -opening cupboards, staring blankly into the fridge, followed by an “I’m hunnnnngryyy…”
So I find it necessary to have snacks ready to go. Sometimes they’re content with a piece of fruit, a yoghurt or a handful of nuts but more often than not, they’ve got their hands in the bickie jar.
If I buy sweet biscuits I tend to just buy plain arnotts biscuits as they are free from artificial preservatives, colours and flavours. That said, there’s also not much in them to provide any kind of lasting sustenance, so I prefer to make my own from scratch.
These chocolate coconut bickies are super quick and easy, full of nourishing goodness and really hit the spot.

20130929-172501.jpg
CHOC COCONUT BICKIES (cookies) -grain free, dairy free

1 cup almonds
1/2 cup coconut flour
1 tsp baking powder
1 heaped tbsp cacao
1 egg
4 tablespoons homemade coconut butter (or 2 tbsp desiccated coconut and 2 tbls coconut oil)
2 tablespoons raw local honey or rice malt syrup (if you’ve got a real sweet tooth on your hands use an extra tbsp)

HERE’S HOW

* Preheat oven to 180 dc (350 DF)

* grind nuts to a fine flour in a food processor

* add all other ingredients except coconut flour and process until well combined

* add coconut flour and process until just combined.

* roll into balls, place on a lined baking tray and flatten with a fork

* bake for 15-20 mins depending on your oven. 20 mins is perfect for mine.

20130929-181945.jpg

A lovely treat for afternoon tea with a drink of milk or with a nice quiet cuppa when the kids are in bed.
… Or like my husband – fistfuls from the jar on his way out the door in the morning for a bickie breaky on the go!

20130929-182118.jpg
Enjoy 🙂

4 thoughts on “Choc Coconut Bickies (cookies)

  1. You know, I think I could count on one hand the number of times either of my kids have said they’re hungry. They just don’t seem to register when they need food or perhaps they really just never get hungry between meals. That’s not to say they don’t snack, but it’s almost always me saying, would you like a snack/something to eat/lunch etc. But these cookies wouldn’t last long I’m sure…. even if it was me eating them all.

  2. Pingback: Almond, Cinnamon and Raisin Cookies | renlikesred

    • Thanks for your comments 🙂 roughly 18 depending on how big you roll them. Because I usually grind my own nuts I’m not sure if you will need quite as much almond flour. Perhaps try half a cup less to begin with. The mixture should not be too wet but sticky enough just to shape and squash. Hope that makes sense!

Leave a Reply

