Lamb and Vegetable Skewers with cumin and lemon

20130926-155438.jpg
My kids get excited about anything on a skewer and if you have children who are a little older, it’s a great way to get them involved with preparing dinner.
You may want to cut the sharp tips off your skewers for the kids but I just encourage mine to hold the pointy end and eat from the blunt end.
This is a very versatile meal. You can use lots of other flavour combinations such as garlic and rosemary, honey and mustard, swap the lamb for beef or make them all vegetable if you prefer.
They will cook beautifully on the BBQ, on the stove top or my preferred way, (the easiest!) in the oven.
Best of all, if you have a garden full of summer vegetables it’s also pretty cheap!

20130926-155657.jpg

YOU WILL NEED

500g (1lb) diced lamb
250g (1 punnet or approx 2 cups) cherry tomatoes
1 medium zucchini, sliced into rounds (approx 5mm wide)
1 red onion quartered then cubed
1/2 red capsicum, (pepper)
1/2 green capsicum
1/2 yellow capsicum – all de seeded and cut into squares (approx 2.5cm x 2.5cm)

Marinade
2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil or melted coconut oil
1 tablespoon fresh squeezed lemon juice
1 teaspoon ground cumin
A few good cracks of sea salt and black pepper

20130926-155928.jpg

HERE’S HOW

*Preheat oven to 200DC (390 DF)

*Soak skewers in a dish of water for about ten – 15 minutes while chopping your veggies.
(This will help prevent them from burning during cooking.)

*Thread the veggies onto the skewers in any order you like and according to your children’s preferences. My kids love cherry tomatoes and capsicum so I load them up with those. I usually add button mushrooms to mine too but today we didn’t have any.

*Arrange finished skewers on a lined oven tray with a space between each.

*Combine marinade ingredients in a small dish and and baste the skewers using a pastry brush.
(If you don’t think your kids will like the cumin, just brush theirs with a bit of the oil and sea salt. We find it quite a mild flavour though.)

*Cook for 30 minutes – turn halfway at 15 minutes.
(For a well done skewer, cook both sides for 20 minutes each.)

This will feed two adults and two children easily.
Enjoy ๐Ÿ™‚

20130926-160255.jpg

5 thoughts on “Lamb and Vegetable Skewers with cumin and lemon

  1. Nice one, I’ll give this a try. I usually take the food off the skewers for my kids as they don’t eat it as well. I’ve always thought that was a bit odd, I thought kids would like food on sticks better. I’ve been meaning to get myself a set of metal skewers for ages too so I can cut out one extra disposable item from my kitchen. Perhaps I’ll hunt some down and christen them with these.

    • Jake loves the skewers and eats really well from them but despite riley’s determination, I do find I end up taking his off the stick as well. Still a bit tricky at that age. On a different note, I just bought two long, narrow, raised garden beds to go below my two front windows this morning and i am so excited to fill them and get some herbs in there! Apart from a few pots of basil, parsley and chives, I haven’t really had a dedicated herb garden before. Can’t wait! Hope you’re having a great day ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Ooh I’m jealous. I’ve been very slow getting my garden going. I always seem to be on my own with the kids on the weekend or away. This one is no better, but after that I think I’m free for a while and a herb garden is top priority – out the front too. We’ll have to compare. Pity we’re not closer and we could swap cuttings too. I’ve got plenty of rosemary and sage in the green house.

        BTW, I’ve got the skewers on for dinner tonight – just swapped the red onion for zucchini and couldn’t get a yellow capsicum, boo. Anyway, they look great, can’t wait to taste them.

  2. Pingback: Lemon Walnut Pasta | The New Good Life

  3. Pingback: Moroccan Baked Eggs | Daily Gluttony

Leave a Reply

