Spinach and Chive Vegan Pesto and An Afternoon Delight

20130914-162614.jpg
No, sorry husband, I’m not talking about that kind of afternoon delight…
I’m talking about my current favourite snack/light lunch. It is so simple yet packed full of flavour and goodness, mmm… I’m still licking my lips! But first, you need to make Pesto.
You could try my kale pesto with lemon and roasted walnuts
or my basil cashew pesto
Or, you could try this simple little gem:

20130914-160149.jpg
Spinach And Chive Vegan Pesto
1 cup Macadamia nuts
2 cups spinach leaves
2 garlic cloves
1 tablespoon fresh chopped chives
1/3 cup extra virgin olive oil
Freshly cracked sea salt and black pepper to taste. (I was fairly generous with the salt as it is free of salty cheese)

20130914-160630.jpg

Blend all ingredients in a food processor adding the olive oil gradually in a steady stream.

20130914-160825.jpg
Afternoon Delight

Spread your heavenly fresh pesto on buckwheat crisp bread and top with a few capers (salty little drops of goodness) and a teaspoon of cultured beet root and apple relish from Kitsa’s Kitchen
Cultured (fermented foods) are so good for boosting good bacteria and a healthy gut. And every day it’s becoming more and more clear to me that a healthy gut is the key to all aspects of health.
Enjoy šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

