Orange Jelly

After a few glorious days this week of blue skies and warm sunshine, the promise of spring’s arrival planted it’s little seed in my step… And then it was over. Here we are, back to grey skies, cool winds and sporadic rain storms. So if you need some colour back in your days like I do, here’s a lovely vibrant orange snack that you and the kids will love. A perfect vitamin boost to send winter on its way.

20130830-165630.jpg
Yesterday I posted a recipe for apple and pear jelly here and after a reader’s question thought it would be useful to post a very simple and delicious jelly recipe that doesn’t require a wiz bang juicer.

ORANGE JELLY
4-5 oranges, juiced to make 2 cups liquid
1tablespoon powdered gelatine. I use Great Lakes Gelatine which is from healthy grass fed cows. You can buy it here

METHOD
Heat half a cup of orange juice gently on the stove.
Turn off heat and whisk gelatine into liquid.
Combine well with remaining juice.
Pour into cups, moulds etc and refrigerate for at least an hour.

Notes:
* I use Sinchies reusable squeezy pouches to fill with my jelly. (Formerly known as “Squeezems” as pictured above)
* This recipe easily filled 6 x 80ml pouches.
* If you want a firmer jelly, use up to two tablespoons Gelatine.
* My kids and I love this jelly exactly as is and if you love fresh oj, you will too. However, if your kids are used to something sweeter you could add 1-2 tsp of honey when heating the liquid.

Enjoy fresh, real jelly with no artificial junk 🙂

3 thoughts on “Orange Jelly

  1. Ren, I finally bought gelatine and made orange jelly. I can’t believe how easy it is! I made it with the 8yo and set it in the girls’ thermos’s so they could take it to school. They loved it too, although the oranges weren’t the sweetest, and could have done with some honey. Next time. Thanks for the recipe 🙂

    • That’s awesome Jo! Yes, I thought the honey might make that transition from sugary commercial jelly a bit easier too. My kids both love just freshly squeezed juice though so they were pretty happy with it as is for now but they’re still pretty young which I think is easier in a way. Thanks for the reply 🙂

Leave a Reply

