Fried Rice in 15 minutes

Now, I’m no Jamie Oliver, but I can still get a nutritious meal on the table that the whole family will love in fifteen minutes flat. “How???” You ask. Why, I cheat of course…

20130828-183413.jpg
I always like to keep a couple of these microwave bags of rice in the pantry for those emergency fast, mindless dinners that you know the kids will eat. It’s perfect for those nights when you’ve done the kinder pickup etc… walked in the door, looked at the clock, all you really want to do is sit on the couch with a cuppa and the fresh pile of junk mail, but the kids are tired and hungry, hubby’s rubbing his belly and everyone’s looking at you for answers…
It’s interesting that I use these instant rice bags as I don’t actually own a microwave anymore. I cleaned mine about six months ago and the next time I went to use it, lightening bolts shot out of it at me. I took this as a sign and have been stove toppin’ it since with no regrets whatsoever. (Ideal extra bench space and spare power point too for my blender/food processor!)
Beware of different brands when it comes to these rice bags, always check for no artificial colours, flavours and additives – seriously your body and your kids just don’t need that junk.
I always buy the brown rice because we prefer it, even the kids. I highly recommend basmati rice if you don’t like brown as it has a low glycemic index, meaning it releases its energy slowly.
Of course, if you have the time and the inclination – certainly, cook your rice from scratch. And when you do, cook extra and freeze for nights such as these.

YOU WILL NEED
1 family bag (450g) of instant rice or 2 small bags (250g each) Approximately 3 cups cooked.
1 small red onion
2 cloves garlic
Half a capsicum, any colour, but Ren likes red
6 slices short bacon (or omit for a meat free version.) Please don’t support factory farming! We choose Istra small goods as they are locally and ethically produced and free of preservatives.
1 heaped cup of frozen peas, carrots, corn (look for Australan/locally grown)
4 good quality free range eggs, from a reliable source, local if you can. Please don’t buy cage eggs!
1-2 tablespoons of soy or tamari or if you’re very lucky, my special secret ingredient:

20130828-190244.jpg
C’s aunty bought me this divine, soy chilli balsamic vinegar for Christmas and along with the plain balsamic glaze version, they are an absolute essential in my kitchen. Check out their website http://www.thereallystuffedoliveco.com.au and see if there is a stockist near you. So yummy!
note: We eat very little in the way of soy and if you prefer to avoid it due to its interruption of hormones, try coconut aminos as a substitute.

20130828-190741.jpg
METHOD
5 minutes to dice your bacon and veggies
5 minutes to fry – including the eggs. I move the veggies aside in the pan, crack the eggs straight in, break the yolks and let it form a kind on omelette then when it’s cooked, break it up and stir it through the other pan ingredients.
Add rice, frozen veggies, sauce and 1/4 cup water. Stir and cover for 4 minutes.
Send someone out to pick some fresh herbs for you, (J and C cut me some chives) leaving 1 minute to chop, scatter and serve!
See, nutritious food doesn’t have to take hours of preparation! Fast, easy, yum!

20130828-191753.jpg

5 thoughts on “Fried Rice in 15 minutes

  1. Ooh fried rice is one of my go-to quick meals too. I have a few cheats as well. First I cook double the amount of rice when I’m making a curry, stir fry etc (brown or white depending on how I’m feeling and what I’m cooking at the time) and freeze half of it. When I go to make the fried rice, I don’t bother defrosting, as it’s already cooked it just needs heating through. Also if we’ve had sausages (ethically produced and preservative free of course and pretty much any flavour) I’ll cook a couple of extras (hide them from the hubby) and slice them to add to the fried rice, either instead of the bacon or as well as depending on how much of each I’ve got. Again these only need heating through rather than cooking.

    By the way, I’ve found an outlet selling Istra products. It looks great, but all pre-packaged which I try to avoid (Argh I hate plastic), I’d love to be able to by it sliced behind a deli counter. Anyway, it’s better than nothing so I’m going to pick some up next week.

    • Great tips barb. Definitely a cheaper way to achieve instant rice. LOVE the sausage idea, but yes I would have to hide them too! I hear what you’re saying about the plastic packaging but one good thing about that is that it keeps really well. The ham is a bit sticky but my boys love it, great flavour but craig and I prefer it in things eg: an omelette. The bacon is lovely though. A friend of mine who goes through a lot of ham gets them to order her a whole piece which she halves and freezer. Something to consider to reduce packaging and possibly costs too. Doesn’t hurt to ask!

  2. I just discovered your lovely blog via The Good Life.. I cook this same dish and send it to school with my kids in a thermos. It is the only thermos lunch that all three girls will eat. Miracle!

  3. Pingback: Honey Mustard Sausages with Roasted Vegetable Salad | renlikesred

  4. Pingback: Additive Free Nachos, with homemade bean salsa | renlikesred

Leave a Reply

