Basil Cashew Pesto

One of my favourite things about summer is the abundance of fresh basil in my garden. Fresh basil means fresh pesto! Simple, salty, tasty green goodness…

20130826-195926.jpg

Is it just me or have these past few days felt like winter may finally be coming to an end? The days seem slightly longer, the sun a little warmer and already we are spending a lot more time out doors. In fact, I was sitting under our patio this morning, at C’s new backyard bar, (more to come about this later) daydreaming over a cup of tea about a new herb garden and spring planting when I just couldn’t get pesto out of my head. So I gathered the goods and rolled up my winter sleeves.

20130826-201857.jpg

INGREDIENTS
2 cups basil leaves
1 cup cashews
1 cup chopped Parmesan cheese
4 garlic cloves
A fresh crack of Sea salt and black pepper
1 cup of extra virgin olive oil

Method
Blend all ingredients in a food processor, adding the olive oil gradually in a steady stream.
Will keep for at least a week in the fridge or can be frozen in ice cube trays. (There is never any left to freeze in this house!)

Being ‘Meat Free Monday,’ we enjoyed a lovely pesto pasta for dinner. Stirred through hot gluten free spaghetti with a squeeze of fresh lemon juice and served on a bed of baby spinach leaves. It is absolutely scrumptious however, spread on a cracker or slathered on the end of a crunchy veggie stick. Mmm pesto…

20130826-203937.jpg

6 thoughts on “Basil Cashew Pesto

  1. I love, love, love pesto. And it’s so versatile. I use all sorts of different nuts, peanuts, pine nuts, cashews, fresh walnuts, almonds etc. I also change the herb depending on what I have in the garden, parsley and walnut is great, rocket with any nut is lovely and coriander works well too. I use it as a pizza topping, a dip, on pasta, the parsley one is great with fish, ah just so much goodness.

    • Yep barb, So yummy and so versatile! Spinach and walnut has been my ‘go to’ pesto in winter as I’ve had some really good hardy spinach thrive despite the frosts. Hadn’t really thought about parsley before but will definitely try that, parsley is so good for cleansing the liver. Last summer I only started with a few herbs in pots so apart from the basil I never really had an endless supply but this year I have bigger plans!!

  2. Pingback: African Blue Basil | The Garden Diaries

  3. Pingback: Spinach and Chive Vegan Pesto and An Afternoon Delight | renlikesred

  4. Pingback: Lets Get Planting! Part 2 | renlikesred

Leave a Reply

